I am a contracting officer assisting in the planning of a source selection for an ACAT system. As part of the source selection process, the customer is adamant about including significant field testing as part of the evaluation process. The system is highly sensitive in that just about everything could affect its performance including weather, time of day, harsh language, etc. As to be expected, everyone on my end, especially legal, is worried about risk of a protest from the losing offeror.

Any ideas, useful guidance, prior examples... anything would be helpful and appreciated.

Guest Vern Edwards

I presume that by ACAT you mean Acquisition Category and that you're working on a major system of some kind.

By field testing I presume you mean some kind of demonstration or prototype competition. If so, there's nothing new or unusual about having offerors demonstrate their systems as part of source selection. I don't know what kind of ideas or guidance you're looking for. It would be impossible for me to offer specific ideas without knowing a lot more about the system, which I'm not interested in knowing. Basically, you develop tests for specified key performance parameters and instruct offerors about how you'll run the tests and how to set up their facilities for testing; who, what, when, where, how stuff. You need to establish some procedural rules. You incorporate the results into your proposal evaluations. The tests can be either pass/fail or head-to-head competitive for the best score. They can be simple additive or tradeoff. Blah, blah, blah. You have to think to pull it off, but people in your kind of organization ought to be able to do it.

If you know what you're doing, you needn't be especially nervous about protests. If you don't, you should contact DAU for help. They've got some people there who know about these things and can consult. Contact me privately on Wifcon and give you names.