Clarification on usage of FAR 52.211-12 Liquidated Damages-Construction

Priest

When using Liquidated Damages clause in construction projects, is it allowable to withhold payments from the final invoice amount. Or how would you go about actaully implementing the clause, I am seeing difficulty sending the contractor a bill and having them pay it.

Additionally would it be an appropriate tool to leverage if we are setting deadlines to get material submittals in and the contractors are constantly late, delaying the overall schedule?

I guess I am new to using liquidated damages and any advice would be greatly appreciated. 

See FAR Subpart 32.6, Contract Debts. And see if your office or your legal office can get you a copy of Briefing Paper 19-9, Understanding Uses of and Limitations on Liquidated Damages for Delays in Federal Government Contracts, by Brian A. Darst (August 2019).

Be careful about withholding payments. Do so only based on legal advice.

I guess I am new to using liquidated damages and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

You don't know whether you are new? You have to guess? 🤔

Have you done a Google search for "liquidated damages in government contracts"? 

Vern has pointed to valuable references.

General thoughts you need to consider as you do the deep dive.

As LDs are a contract term I would hope you and the contractor have discussed the possible LDs and you have proof of the fact that LDs are applicable.   By experience that proof is that you are absolute that the delay in completion was 100% not your fault.

Applying LDs to delay in submittals is something I have never seen done.  It would seem contract specifics would apply.  I just wonder why LDs and not application of other clauses of the contract for failure to meet its terms.  I say this as LDs are not a "penalty" for non-performance but rather "damages" for not completing on time.