Jump to content

Sr Acquisition Consultant


Initially developed by Carnegie Mellon University for the Office of the Secretary of Defense and the National Defense Industrial Association, the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI), is a proven, outcome-based performance model and the globally accepted standard for improving capability, optimizing business performance and aligning operations to business goals. CMMI provides organizations with the essential elements of effective processes that ultimately improve their performance.

NITAAC received a maturity level 2 rating for the first time in 2015 and was successfully reappraised at maturity level 2 in 2018. In 2022, NITAAC passed the CMMI V2.0 Services ML3 appraisal. The Level 3 appraisal demonstrates a distinct competitive advantage and proves NITAAC's capability as a quality business partner and supplier.

Maturity level 3 indicates that NITAAC has defined and standardized processes, that are well characterized, understood, and documented in process descriptions, standard operating procedures, tools, and methods.

Adhering to CMMI best practices and preparing for and being evaluated in a formal appraisal is no small task. NITAAC took this initiative very seriously.  It has required the involvement of staff at all levels of the organization, adapting to new and changing processes, and ensuring full organizational understanding and commitment toward achieving this goal. This accomplishment is an example of NITAAC's commitment to continual process improvement, improved performance, and ultimately, to excellent customer service. If we are more efficient internally, the performance benefits will be passed on to our agency partners.  

Through our three government-wide acquisition contracts (GWACs), NITAAC has been helping federal agencies achieve better mission outcomes through information technology for over 20 years. For agencies turning to the NITAAC GWACs for their information technology (IT) needs, the Level 3 designation is attestation that:

  • NITAAC processes have received the highest form of third-party validation;
  • NITAAC is committed to managing projects and processes; and
  • NITAAC is dedicated to improving program work processes to ensure we are delivering outstanding service to our agency partners.

At NITAAC, we firmly believe it is important to demonstrate leadership, not only in acquisitions, but also in providing our customers with first class service on a measurable scale. It is imperative that we are agile and responsive to the changing IT landscape. The CMMI Level 3 appraisal is proof point that we are just that---our processes are not only established but have improved over time.

Feel free to visit our website at nitaac.nih.gov or call us at 1-888-773-6542.


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...