Fair and Reasonable Pricing Case Law

I am a contract administrator, and I am looking for relevant case law pertaining to the FAR definition of "fair and reasonable price." I've tried searching GAO and Wifcon but it proved unsuccessful. The context is that I'm trying to write a price justification for a subcontractor, and I'd like to incorporate case law as well as FAR citations. In the technical justification I've cited FAR 13.106-3, 15.402, and 15.404-3. Any help is greatly appreciated!

I am a contract administrator, and I am looking for relevant case law pertaining to the FAR definition of "fair and reasonable price." I've tried searching GAO and Wifcon but it proved unsuccessful. The context is that I'm trying to write a price justification for a subcontractor, and I'd like to incorporate case law as well as FAR citations. In the technical justification I've cited FAR 13.106-3, 15.402, and 15.404-3. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Before responding, I believe we need a little more information. First, are you working for the government or for a contractor? Second, what is the dollar amount of the subcontract? Third, did you receive adequate price competition?

Guest Vern Edwards

You need case law to document the fairness and reasonableness of a price? Really?

What case law would there be? Ordinarily, the question of fair and reasonable price comes up during negotiations before there is a contract, so there would be nothing for a board or court to adjudicate. They can adjudicate only disputed contract claims. I don't know of any GAO protest decision setting a case law standard for fairness and reasonableness during contract negotiations, and I've never heard of parties going to a board or court for a decision about what would be a fair and reasonable price in a contract negotiation. After contract award the issue is usually equitable adjustment, which is a different concept than fair and reasonable price.