Cost Analysis - Accounting for Indirect Costs

I am a cost analyst. My company gets lots of proposals that include fully burdened rates. We have no visibility into their OH, G&A, etc. Just their fully burdened rates (never even a base rate). We do have labor categories so we are able to go to websites like salary.com, bls, etc. to find comparable base rates.

My question is, what do you use to account for the indirect rates when you are checking the reasonableness of a proposed rate? Do you use Global Insight Burdened Wage Calculator? Do you have another way to account for it? This is always the trickiest part of determining the reasonableness of proposed labor. I understand it would be an estimate/ball park way of doing it. Even if it is a tool that uses industry averages for indirect rates. Just need a way/tool that is defensable.

Proposed rate for an electrical engineer (including all indirects): $162

Base rate (from salary.com) for an electrical engineer: $54

What tools would you use to estimate/build up the rate from salary.com? Prefereably something that has been looked at/approved by DCMA/DCAA.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Realquiet -

We've developed a labor rate analysis tool that relies on government data (BLS, Census, and IRS) and does just what you're asking, plus writes the price analysis document.  Email me (patrick@spendlogic.com) and I can show you and example and get you set up with a free trial.

Patrick

The rates are fully burdened, and provide median, high low ranges.  As for this data holding up through audit, I can't say, but this is the government web site, that would tell me it should stand up.  You can get free trials from others, I have with ERS. ERS is used by DCAA and DCMA so if you have $1500 you can rest assured you have a solid price analysis.

1.5 is a fairly standard rate multiplier.  but 1.5 can go up or down depending on several factors such as industry, overhead, geographic, etc...