How to price option years?

MiamiSB

Hello everyone--

I'm a small business owner, preparing my first quotation for the federal gov't.  I have a couple questions about option years which I'm hoping to get some help with.  In particular:

[1] If I'm understanding things, the gov't is in complete control when it comes to exercising, or not exercising, option years.  I.e. if three years down the road, we don't want to provide this service anymore, we nonetheless must, if the gov't wants it.  Is that right?

[2] Any rules-of-thumb for pricing option years?  Of course we're accounting for inflation, but there's also the risk that four years from now, our company will be much bigger and these contracts will no longer make sense for us.  Is it typical to see much, much higher prices quoted for future years?

[3] Does the gov't look at the option years, or just the base year, when deciding whom to award the contract to?

Many thanks!

With respect to (1) above, generally you are correct. However, there may defenses to non-performance. For example, "impossibility of performance" may provide a complete defense non performance. You can research that on the internet. My example: your company completely left the field of service it was in and now only produces goods instead. I will leave (2) and (3) to others.  

1.  See definition of "option in FAR 2.101 which states:

“Option” means a unilateral right in a contract by which, for a specified time, the Government may elect to purchase additional supplies or services called for by the contract, or may elect to extend the term of the contract.

As long as the Government exercises the option in strict accordance with the contract's terms and conditions, it is their unilateral right and you would have to comply or otherwise be in breach of the contract.

2.  Be diligent - you should know your company and your market better than I do so estimate as accurately as possible and with care.