Where/ How to start learning?

StePa

Hello, 

I recently joined the forums and have been reading several topics to familiarize myself with some topics, issues, etc. 

I am new to the realm of government contracting and see that my employer works as a subcontractor. 

I am attempting to learn the FAR / DFARS as these seem to apply to my employer the most and have come across these in our company's terms and conditions. I have been tasked to try to look through the FAR to update the list of clauses that would apply to our terms & conditions if any. 

Finally, my question:

Is the best avenue of approach to simply read the FAR and DFARS line by line, with an eye out for required flowdown clauses? 

or 

Is there another approach you would recommend to self start this project? 

Thank you. 

Guest PepeTheFrog

You're in the right place. Reading as much of this discussion forum (and website) as possible will be very helpful. 

You might try reading your subcontracts line by line, and tracing the flowdown clauses back to the FAR or DFARS. 

National Contract Management Association (NCMA) is a helpful group to join and they offer a monthly journal which is worth the price of membership.