J&A for a BOA?

Hello WIFCON folks!

I am an intern and just started a new rotation... while reviewing a few contract files to get an understanding of the team, I noticed something that didn't seem quite right: J&As are being written at the BOA level, and not for the subsequent orders under the BOA. It is almost that the BOA is being used as a single award IDIQ, but wouldn’t this violate the CICA Act?

I read and research a lot of contract topics on my own, so forgive me if I have missed a simple answer here, but isn't this approach incorrect?

-- GS

You're right. You probably read FAR 16.703( c ) and ( d )( 1 )( iii ). The first talks about the BOA itself, and how a BOA cannot be used noncompetitively. The second talks about the order, and how any sole-source order has to be supported by its own J&A.

If an agency does a class J&A and wants one contract instrument to implement the class J&A, then a single-award IDIQ contract could work. But a BOA cannot be used in any manner to restrict competition.

It is a common practice to have a class J&A for a BOA. Each order must be synopsized, which differs from the IDIQ (FAR 16.5). The J&A addresses CICA concerns. Each order must be covered under the description of supplies/services of the J&A, under the market research conducted for that J&A, and under the approved value.

JMG,

How does the common practice you describe comport with FAR 16.703( c ) and ( d )( 1 )( iii )?

Can't answer that. You will have to ask ASN promulgators. My Agency regulations permit it per FAR 6.304(c ) :

NMCARS

5206.303-1 (FAR 6.303-1) Requirements.

(d) A class J&A is required when a class of contract actions will be executed for the same or related supplies or services that require essentially identical justification. Multiyear contracts and contracts with priced options are considered individual contract actions. A class of contracts includes but is not limited to:

(i) a Basic Ordering Agreement (BOA) and orders to be issued under it