How can I become an 1102?

Greetings all,

I joined WIFCON, at the suggestion of my mentor, to build my knowledge of the FAR and my understanding of contracting related topics and issues. I have been using the resources, blogs and discussions on this site to further educate myself on the nuances of being an acquisition professional.

I have four years of acquisition/contracting experience as a contractor in DHS in the DC Area. I’ve joined NCMA for the learning opportunities and I am in the process of testing for my second NCMA Certification (CFCM). I have applied to many 1102 opportunities, made many cert lists, and had several interviews but I have yet to be selected and get my foot in the door. I meet all of the qualifications and I am wondering if there is anything I can do to give myself a better chance. Can anyone provide advice on what I can do to make myself more marketable? Are there any programs for non-veterans that I may be able to utilize to help me accomplish my goal of becoming an 1102? I truly appreciate any feedback that may come as a result of this post. Have a wonderful day, everyone!

I came to the government from private industry via an Acquisition and Contracting Intern Program. If you have a Bachelor's degree that has a minimum of 24 business credits you should qualify. My intern program was a 2 year program starting at the GS-7 position and at the end was GS-11 - this may vary among the Departments and Agencies. Here's one web site for for reference:

http://www.acquisitionacademy.va.gov/schools/internship/

There are others so you may want to look for a Department or Agency that has vacancies. I was able to get hired around this time of year since they wanted to fill the positions by the end of the fiscal year so the earlier you start your search and submit application(s) the better.