GPC Program

I was recently appointed as a GPC Level III/IV coordinator. I am relatively new to the career field (4 years) and was very surprised when I was tasked by my boss for this position. It seems as if this is either a good skill set to have or a career ender.

Any one have any advice on being a GPC coordinator?

I have been to a training and it seems as if even the Cardholders dread this Contracting method more than actually putting a Purchase Request or a contract in place. When I ask peers in the office I get comments GPC is the only thing that they did not want to ever do. It seems to be contracting's ugly stepsister.

Unfortunately it is viewed too frequently as contractings ugly stepchild. The program saves the government considerable administrative time and expense and allows programs to get what they need very quickly. The down side is cards can easily be abused and IGs constantly examine use to catch guilty parties. As a result, cardholders often feel the strict oversight and questioning as well as problems matching invoices with purchases doesn't make use that beneficial. Often they like the idea of preaping and submitting a requiistion and have someone else make the procurement.

As far as your role, my advice is to make the program as easy as possible to use. Share best practices and lessons learned from others with your cardholders. When you do your reviews, look for things to improve. Send out helpful hints. But also keep a watchful eye for misuse. Catch things before auditors do.

Pebbles,

I would fall into that catagory that would not want to be an APC for anything. To me, not only could it be repetitive which would bore me, but I have seen people get pigeon-holed in GPC and never able to get a position back in "real" contracting. It's a specialty. Now if you're close to retirement, this may be the perfect job. The last APC I knew loved her job and stayed in it for the last 6 years of her worklife... then she retired happily.