Realignment of CR ODC funds to CPFF Labor

MuchToLearn

Hello,

First time poster. I work as a Contracts Administrator for a Government contracting firm, and I have much to learn in the way of federal contracting.

A task order I administer has a CPFF Labor CLIN, and a CR ODC CLIN. As the base period drew to a close, it was apparent that we underran on ODC costs (as in, there was less of a need to purchase ODCs than was initially anticipated). Working with the Government COR, a request for quote was released for additional tasking that is within the scope of work. The understanding was that the ODC funds would be reallocated to the Labor CLIN to accomplish this work. In our proposal, we applied fixed fee for the proposed work.

Our CO is insisting that the fixed fee cannot be changed in this case: because the tasking is in scope, we are not entitled to charge fee on this work. My position is that, while the negotaited fee cannot be varied as a result of actual cost incurred by a contractor, here the fee should be adjusted upward because the work to be performed under the contract has changed from what was intially proposed (even though the change adds in-scope work). I feel that this is boltered by the fact that an RFQ was solicited to price the work. Additionally, since the ODC funds being reallocated were awarded on a CR CLIN, the initial fixed fee calculation did not include this amount (so its not a "double fee").

I believe I am right, but one nagging thing bothers me about the language in the FAR:

16.306 Cost-plus-fixed-fee contracts.