Fixed Price CLINs

Dormer30

I am fairly new to the fixed price world and I have a conundrum. I have a requirement for IT services being done via GSA. The CLIN structure is 47 CLINs for the different tasks required with an estimate as to how many will be done in each year of the contract (1 base plus 2 options). The estimates are the same for each year. It will be funded on a bottom line basis and not per CLIN. My questions - What if we do not meet the estimates (which we are sure not to). If the actual numbers are smaller what do I do with the remaining money? Isn't it already promised to the contractor since this is fixed price? On the other hand, what if the estimates prove to be less than what is actually required - can I add money? That seems like incremental funding which is generally not allowed on a fixed price contract. I apologize if this is a rudimentary question, but like I said I am new to fixed price contracts and would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

Guest Vern Edwards

Would it be correct to say that each CLIN describes a type of task, that the unit of pricing is an hour, and that each CLIN stipulates one or more labor categories and an estimated number of hours? And are the offerors/quoters supposed to propose one or more hourly labor rates?

Would it be correct to say that each CLIN describes a type of task, that the unit of pricing is an hour, and that each CLIN stipulates one or more labor categories and an estimated number of hours? And are the offerors/quoters supposed to propose one or more hourly labor rates?