Payment Bonds For Service Contracts

bob7947

I'm posting this for a new poster. I originally had "Construction" contracts in the title. It should have been "Service" contracts.

Who has experience in Payment Bonds related to Service Contracts? My background is in Construction Contracts so am asking if anyone has required Payment Bonds related to Service Contracts. Your help and advice is appreciated.

Additional Information. We have had several Service Contracts were bonds were not required and seem to be experiencing a number of Congressional Inquiries where Subs are not being paid. It has been our procedure to require both Payment and Performance bonds for construction and not requiring them for Serivce. The FAR allows for Payment Bonds for other than construction however if a Payment Bond is required so is a Performance Bond. Does anyone have experience in Service Contracts where you have required both Performance and Payment Bonds?

Based on some limited experience on requiring bonds on service contract work here are my thoughts?

Annual Bonds ? Note coverage in FAR Part 28 regarding annual bid and performance bonds. You might encounter offerors that have these type of bonds in place however my experience has been where the service contractor has provided separate bonds.

Bid Guarantee ? Highly suggest you require but note FAR coverage of where may not be in the best interest of the Government.

IGE ? Remember to have the costs for bonding included in your IGE. I would error on a higher percentage 3.5 to 4.5% of contract value as experience on my part was that the bonding companies demanded a higher percentage of cost due to the fact that the firms they were bonding were thought to be in the higher risk category due to lack of bond experience by the firms.