Prepaid Subscription/Lease beyond Period of Performance

oldnavy

I am a Prime Contractor who in the performance for a Task Order, procured a one year telecom/satcom "lease" in June.

The Task Oder PoP ends in Dec. The Satcom lease is prepaid, so there wil be no invoicing after the PoP

FMR (Vol 4, Chap 5) allows for prepaid subscriptions, rents, etc.

There are no issues regaarding FY/appropriation, Bona Fide, ceiling, severability, standard business practices, scope, etc.

The issue is simply can a prepaid telecom lease go beyond a TO's PoP?

I also have a concern now that product warranties are similarly affected, ie. we purchased an extended manufacturer's warranty for a high failure/critical component, and of course, the warranty goes beyond the PoP.

The initial take from contracts is "prepaying is bad" but they had heard of this subscription thing being ok, but were not sure how the PoP affected it?

I believe contracts are going on their gut, they really dont have the time or inclination to do research on this.

Of course the silver bullet is to extend the PoP but they are reluctant to do that for various reasons.

I suggested a "limited" PoP extenstion that only addresses the Satcom/Telecom lease - any1 heard of a limited PoP extension?

Guest Vern Edwards

I assume that the task order is either cost-reimbursement or T&M and that the issue is whether you can seek reimbursement for the entire costs for the lease, which includes costs for time after the completion of the order.

I doubt that the government will want to pay for the entire lease period if it's not getting any benefit after the close of the task order period of performance. However, it's possible that you could make a case that the entire cost is allowable on grounds that it had to be prepaid in full and there was no option. The only way to know is to present your case to the CO. Needless to say, you should have asked the CO before you signed the lease.