When conducting negotiations is it appropriate to furnish the contractor with the Government's Objective Spreadsheets (they are marked FOUO)? I've been in Pricing for a long time and we've never given the contractor the government's spreadsheets and we are now being asked where the regulatory guidance exists for not sharing the government position. Can you help?

When conducting negotiations is it appropriate to furnish the contractor with the Government's Objective Spreadsheets (they are marked FOUO)? I've been in Pricing for a long time and we've never given the contractor the government's spreadsheets and we are now being asked where the regulatory guidance exists for not sharing the government position. Can you help?

As a contractor, I've been involved in negotiations with certain DOD Agencies that shared their spreadsheets with us.

I assume that the contracting officer (C0) stamped the spreadsheet FOUO. Regardless of the identity of the person wielding the FOUO stamp, ultimately, the decision to release the spreadsheet info containing the CO's objectives is the CO.

I am unable to find FOUO in the FAR. I believe FOUO is a term relevant to the Freedom of Information Act. I do not think that FOIA applies to your circumstance since the contractor is not requesting that you release your price position.

There are other relevant terms to consider - "source selection information" and "contractor bid or proposal information". FAR 2.101 defines source selection information. FAR 3.104-4 is entitled "Disclosure, Protection, and Marking of Contractor Bid or Proposal Information and Source Selection Information." I see nothing in there that would prevent the CO from sharing the spreadsheet if the CO feels it is prudent to do so and if the spreadsheet contains only information about the firm with whom you are negotiating.